town hall

Town Hall located on Main Street

Blowing Rock operates with a Council-Manager form of government. Citizens of Blowing Rock vote to elect the Town Council, who in turn choose a Town Manager. A town mayor is elected every 2 years and presides over all Council meetings. The current mayor is J.B. Lawrence, who is a native of Watauga County, attended ASU and has resided in Blowing Rock since 1972.

There are five Council members: Albert Yount, Doug Matheson, Dan Phillips, Ray Pickett and Sue Sweeting. The Town Council has responsibilities to the town ranging from setting tax rates and determining town policies, to appointing members of Boards and deciding how to raise and spend the budget.

The Town Manager is appointed by the Council who is responsible for the execution of the policies and laws. The Council chooses a Town Attorney, who is the legal advisor for the Manager, Council, and Boards. Citizens are encouraged to attend Town meetings to insure that they are receiving correct representation, and to keep clear communication lines between the citizens and the government.

[widgets_on_pages id=”Relocation Menu”]